Subscribe to our Newsletter:

Swiss Orchid Foundation
at the Herbarium Jany Renz

Botanical Institute
University of Basel

Schoenbeinstr. 6
CH-4056 Basel


+41 (0)61 267 29 81

© 2015 Swiss Orchid Foundation

botinst
Botanical Institute
University of Basel

Welcome to the website of the Swiss Orchid Foundation

Since 2001 the Swiss Orchid Foundation, in collaboration with the University of Basel, cares for the cultural and scientific legacy of the outstanding Swiss amateur orchid taxonomist Dr. Jany Renz, which consists of an extensive and scientifically important orchid herbarium and a large and almost comprehensive orchid library. The Foundation is a charitable institution funded solely by private donations and organised events. Its aim is to maintain and to curate Renz’s lifework, to make the collection available to a worldwide audience, and to promote knowledge of and the study of orchids worldwide.

World Orchid Iconography

In order to make Jany Renz’s herbarium and library available to the public, the Foundation has developed the World Orchid Iconography (WOI), a large database, where images of all his herbarium specimens, orchid illustrations from his library and photographs of living plants can be accessed on the Internet. It also incorporates important information linked to the images. The database is adding further photographs, which are made available to us by many orchid specialists and photographers, with the aim of eventually including images of all described orchid species. To reach this goal, we rely on the cooperation with many orchid enthusiasts and specialists around the world.

Meanwhile, the World Orchid Iconography has become a powerful tool for scientists, enthusiasts, and growers worldwide for access to visual and nomenclature information on orchids. All images of the WOI are downloadable for free and can be used for non-commercial purposes in accordance with our copyright policy.

Renziana

RENZIANA, a bilingual (Engl./ Ger.) orchid journal, is published annually by the Foundation, with contributions from experienced plant scientists, enthusiasts, and growers. Each issue comprises a brief monograph of a selected genus or breeding group of orchids, including topics like the most recent classification, history, ecology, and culture. Every issue is richly illustrated with high-quality colour pictures of all species of the genus and additional pictures of orchid habitats, ecology, hybrids, etc. Recent issues dealt with the genera Cypripedium, Paphiopedilum, Phalaenopsis, Vanda, and Cattleya and can be purchased on our website.

SORA

The Foundation awards annually the Swiss Orchid Research Award (SORA) to an outstanding orchid scientist for continuing research in the fields of evolutionary and reproductive biology, taxonomy, anatomy, physiology or ecology of orchids.

BibliOrchidea

BibliOrchidea is the largest and most comprehensive database of orchid literature. It contains more than 175,000 items, including articles from orchid journals, books and preprints on orchids.

Subscribe to our Newsletter:

Schweizerische Orchideenstiftung
am Herbarium Jany Renz


Dr. Christoph Noelpp
St. Jakobs-Strasse 30
4002 Basel
Schweiz

© 2015 Swiss Orchid Foundation

botinst
Botanisches Institut
Universität Basel

Herzlich willkommen auf der Internetseite der Schweizerischen Orchideenstiftung

Die Schweizerische Orchideenstiftung betreut seit 2001 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Basel das kulturelle und wissenschaftliche Erbe des berühmten schweizerischen Amateur-Orchideenforschers Dr. Jany Renz, das aus einem sehr wertvollen Herbarium und einer grossen und nahezu vollständigen Orchideen-Bibliothek besteht. Die Stiftung ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung, die sich ausschließlich aus Spenden und öffentlichen Veranstaltungen finanziert. Ihr Ziel ist es, Renz’ Legat zu erhalten und zu kuratieren, die Sammlung einem weltweiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen und sowohl das Wissen über als auch die Erforschung von Orchideen zu fördern.

World Orchid Iconography

Aus dem Wunsch heraus, die Jany Renz-Sammlung der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, wurde von Samuel Sprunger und Thomas Renz eine Datenbank ins Leben gerufen, in die Bilder sämtlicher Herbarbelege und etlicher Orchideen-Zeichnungen der Bibliothek aufgenommen wurden. Wir nennen diese Datenbank World Orchid Iconography (WOI), da sie nicht nur Orchideenbilder zeigt, sondern auch viele wichtige Informationen, die hinter den Bildern stecken (= icon). Nachdem ein Grossteil der Sammlung auf diesem Wege veröffentlicht war, entschlossen wir uns zu einer Erweiterung der Datenbank, indem wir damit begannen, auch Bilder anderer Autoren mitaufzunehmen. Unser grosses Ziel ist es, irgendwann einmal alle beschriebenen Orchideenarten zusammen zu haben. Hierfür sind wir auf die Zusammenarbeit mit vielen Orchideenfreunden angewiesen.

Zwischenzeitlich hat sich die World Orchid Iconography weltweit zu einem einzigartigen, leistungsstarken Werkzeug für Wissenschaftler, Liebhaber und Züchter entwickelt, mit dem es möglich ist, gezielt Bilder und Taxonomie-Daten von Orchideen zu erhalten. Sämtliche Bilder der WOI können umsonst von unserer Website heruntergeladen und für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke verwendet werden. Beachten Sie aber bitte unsere Copyright-Richtlinien.

Renziana

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit erfahrenen Pflanzenwissenschaftlern, Liebhabern und Züchtern gibt die Schweizerische Orchideenstiftung einmal jährlich die Renziana, eine zweisprachige (Engl./ Dt.) Orchideenzeitschrift heraus. Das Heft ist wie eine kleine Monographie aufgebaut und befasst sich mit Themen, wie der aktuellen Klassifizierung, Geschichte, Ökologie und Kultivierung einer Orchideengattung. Jede Ausgabe besticht durch eine Vielzahl qualitativ hochwertiger Farbbilder sämtlicher Arten einer Gattung und weiteren Bildern, wie zum Beispiel der natürlichen Standorte, der Hybriden, etc. Die letzten Ausgaben befassten sich mit den Gattungen Cypripedium, Paphiopedilum, Phalaenopsis, Vanda und Cattleya und können direkt auf dieser Seite käuflich erworben werden.

SORA

Die Schweizerische Orchideenstiftung vergibt einmal im Jahr den Swiss Orchid Research Award (SORA) an einen namhaften (Nachwuchs-) Orchideenforscher für herausragende Forschung auf den Gebieten der evolutionären- und Reproduktionsbiologie, Taxonomie, Anatomie, Physiologie oder Ökologie der Orchideen.